Smelly Smelly

So, I am taking up an 11 day poetry challenge, along with some of my friends. This is the first one in the series, The prompt was to write a poem from the point of view of an inanimate object. My object of choice were shoes, ( in a fictitious universe they can be my own shoes) And yes of course, other poems can be found on Facebook or elsewhere via the hash tag ‪#‎eleven11poetrychallenge

Title: Smelly Smelly

Object: ShoesShoes

Smelly Smelly

It is seen across the room

A vast wasteland of eager feet
Some big, some with limp
Some light and some that make the carpet sink
I desperately wait for mine
But then those feet are all the same
Draped in pretentious cover
Of socks
Trying to hide their very foundation
human they are called
Timid looking things
Unaware of their beauty
Always have to be carried around
Therefore they build a fortress
Do not ever love completely
Trust is their weakest point
Withdrawn they are from their own belongings
I have always been the mirror to their image
An account of their travels
Perils and parties
And I have seen across the room many times 
A pair of human feet that is not mine
A much more timid feet
With much less weight to carry
A pair of feet my particular human calls love
And there have been a number of pairs he has called love since time
And when they play around like dog trying to bite its tail they do crazy stuff
His partners feet love to slip into me
They walk around funny 
He looks at with amusement 
This is their bonding
His girlfriend in his shoes
But they are all pretending feet
Smell of lavender in their feet
Come along withdrawn
Socks they call it,

Never raw, hidden inside

Like I would bite….

 

I have once met a pair of feet that came in real and true

Her feet smelt, her fingers were funny

And when in the times they played, joyous and amused

She would slip her feet into me

No socks, no lavender

Pure human touch

I could tell from the smell of her feet

She loved my human truly

But he let her go, perhaps because she never wore a mask

Perhaps because of the smell in her feet

Or the holes in her socks

Because humans are timid things

If you ask me, 

He let her go because she was unpretentious, real and true

And that scared the shit out of him.

 

 

Samip Dhungel

 

Leave a Reply

