for her

If this was a cheesy piece

If this was a quick release

If this was for Sunday’s sake 

I would have been indiscriminate

If it never felt like sunflowers

Or butterflies

At the dying hours the afternoon smell

I would have nothing to tell

But you have made me believe

and stacked my wits like leaves

You have set my doom ablaze

been the summer sun through the winter haze

And as I struggle to place together

words to this poem, which is more of a letter

I find myself humbled and free

to chase dreams and tickle destiny

only because you let me lay

my stray ship on you cotton bay

and smile I do, sing I do

for every second Love I do

wake up and loom forward to

everyday to a day with you

the concept of Love makes much more sense

Eighteen months and forever hence 

Leave a Reply

