new year poem

I’m holding on
to my resolutions
now here’s the illusion
that I’ll keep them
I’m thinking now
will i have the fuel
to fuel my broken passion
or to even get to college on time
i still believe that it will change
for better and not worse
and some one breaks the curse
on this wretched system

I’m praying now, to all the mayan gods
but what might be the odds
we all fall and collapse

and never live to see; sweet destiny
i still feel the same
but this time i will change
in a year with another name

now you might recall
the stories of the fallen year
but now do you care?
you have suffered
and survived
i know you did wrong
no matter how happy it made
but in the end you
have it in you head
and every night it debates
I’m shutting down
all these fallacies
that i call my fantasy
and i brush off my head now

I’m holding on
to my resolutions
now here’s the illusion
that I’ll keep them

Leave a Reply

